Eliud Owalo Launches Task Force To Bring Reform In The ICT Sector.

Former Chief Executive Editor of the Nation News Agency (NMG) Tom Mshindi and President of the National Editors’ Association (KEG) Zubeida Kananu Koome are among the members of the panel of 42 experts appointed to lead activities to bring about reforms in the policies and laws of the news sector. news in the country.

The Minister of Information and Communication Technology and Digital Economy Eliud Owalo on Friday launched the panel which also includes academics and experts in the information and ICT sector in the country.

The minister said that members of the panel will conduct investigations and recommend reforms in various sectors managed by his ministry.

‘My ministry has appointed this group of professionals to be part of this task because the various policies, laws and regulations that govern the ICT sector, including the Information and Communication Act of 2018 (KICA Act, 2018) are outdated. Therefore, the members of this panel will review them and align them with the changes witnessed in the digital sector in the country,” Mr Owalo said when he led the launch of the panel at Serena restaurant, Nairobi, September 8, 2023.

The minister said there have been changes in ICT technology within 25 and 30 years in all relevant sub-sectors and therefore there is a need to run the laws and policies to meet current needs.

“We have witnessed emerging technologies such as artificial intelligence (AI), digital currencies (cryptocurrency), data and other digital programs that need to be embraced,” Mr Owalo said.

The 42 members of this task force include a group that will deal with the ICT sub-sector (19 members) and the Broadcasting Technology sector (15 members).

They will be assisted by a secretariat that includes eight lawyers with many years of experience.

Professor Timothy Mwololo Waema to be the chairman of the working group.

His deputies will be Ms. Phyllis Migwi and journalist Dr. Hanningtone Joel Gaya.

They have been given six months to complete the task and submit a report to minister Owalo.

Others who were appointed as members of the working group were former digital strategists under the administration in the House Dennis Itumbi and David Nzoika.

There is also former Head of Digital Division at NMG Churchil Otieno and journalist Agnes Kalekye.

Others are; Professor Thomas Senaji, Professor Tom Olale, Carole Mundi, Sylvia Mudasa Mwichuli, Engineer Vincent Adul, Engineer Daniel Obam, Judy Munyinyi, Edward Mwasi and Michael Okidi.

Members of the ICT sub-sector handling panel include; Prof Christopher Kipchumba, Marshal Luusa, Angela Wamola, John Ooko, John Walubengo, Philip Thigo, James Kimuyu, Dennis Kute, Josephine Ndambuki, Benson Mandela, George Wanyama, John Nusu, Amrit Singh Lahburam, Anastatcia Kariuki, Daniel Ketoto and Caroline Kiai.

Members of the Secretariat include; Christopher Karanja, Dr Erick Kibet, Anet Kerubo, Dr Amos William Omollo, Dr Latiff Lindah, Moses Kipkemoi, Joan Onyango Obunga and lawyer Mahat Somane.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button